Wheel of Life

Key Sketch

Year: 2029 B.S 
Pencil on Paper
55.5 x 34 cm

About the Art

Bhāvachakra, "wheel of life," consists of the words bhāva and chakra. Bhāva means "being, worldly existence, becoming, birth, being, production, origin". The mandala is a complex picture representing the Buddhist view of the universe. To Buddhists, existence is a cycle of life, death, rebirth and suffering that they seek to escape altogether.

The Wheel is divided into five or six realms, or states, into which a soul can be reborn. It is held by a demon. Around the rim are depicted the twelve stages of dependent origination.

© Copyright 2024 Museum of Nepal Arts. All Rights Reserved.